Select Page


McGahon elected new chair of Dundalk Municipal District Committee

McGahon elected new chair of Dundalk Municipal District Committee

Fine Gael Councillor John McGahon has been elected as the new chairman of the Dundalk Municipal District Committee at a meeting in the Town Hall tonight.

The St Patrick’s Terrace man will become the fourth chairman of the committee, which has taken over from the old Dundalk Town Council since the change in local government structures following the 2014 local elections.

He follows in the footsteps of current TD Declan Breathnach, his party colleague Maria Doyle and the outgoing Mark Dearey as the chairman of the committee.

Speaking on his election as Chairperson, Cllr McGahon said he was anxious to increase the power the municipal district had to affect change in Dundalk.

“Naturally enough it is a great honour to have been elected as Chairperson of the Dundalk Municipal District which is the successor of the old Dundalk Town Council.

“We have huge scope with reserved functions to increase the power and remit of the Municipal District and we should continue to push the boundaries with this rather than let power being diluted any further.

“We have already seen those boundaries pushed in the last year with reserve functions enacted which allowed for the establishment of a Sub Committee on Brexit for the Dundalk District and we must continue on in the is vein.

“I will spent the next 12 months making sure the Dundalk District and its remit is promoted and enhanced and not just seen as an understudy to Drogheda or Louth County Council.

“We have a proud tradition of local government in Dundalk and it’s up to us as Councillors to keep on pushing those boundaries within the Local Government Act 2014 to make sure Dundalk is fairly and properly represented,” he said.

Follow us on Facebook