O’Mahony’s advance to Leinster semi-finals with victory over Castleknock

sean o'mahonysThe Sean O‘Mahony’s booked their place in the Leinster Club IFC semi-finals with a hard foguht 1-10 to 0-12 victory over Castleknock after extra time in Clan na Gael Park yesterday afternoon.

Points from Stephen Fisher and Conor Martin in the second period of extra-time proved decisive in the end as the Point Road outfit advanced to the last four.

Despite conceding the opening point, two Stephen Kilcoyne points either side of scores from Liam Dullaghan and Conor Finnegan had the Dundalk side ahead.

They then doubled their advantage when Conor Martin got on the end of a long delivery to flick the ball to the net to leave it 1-4 to 0-1.

Castleknock responded with for successive points at that stage but a further Kilcoyne point meant the O’Mahony’s led by 1-5 to 0-5 at the break.

Four points without reply from Dessie Carlos had the Dublin side in front soon after the restart, however, before the O’Mahony’s restored their lead with points from Fisher and Finnegan.

The visitors managed to level again though before both sides passed up good chances to steal it before extra time was required.

Castleknock briefly forged in front at the start of extra-time but a Ronan Byrne point left the sides level once more at the break.

Fisher and Martin then fired over on the restart to put the O’Mahony’s in the driving seat and despite Castleknock responding, the men from the Quay did enough to hold out for the victory.

Meanwhile in the Leinster JFC, Drogheda outfit the Oliver Plunketts advanced to the quarter-finals courtesy of a 0-8 to 0-7 victory over Craobh Chiarain from Dublin in Drogheda on Saturday afternoon.

Sean O’Mahony’s: Kevin Brennan; Pat O’Brien, Mickey Clarke, Ronan Byrne 0-1; Keith McLaughlin, John O’Brien, Kurt Murphy; Shane Brennan, Peter Nixon; Conor Finnegan 0-2, Liam Dullaghan 0-1, Stephen Fisher 0-2; Conor Crawley, Conor Martin 1-1, Stephen Kilcoyne 0-3. Subs: Gary Mulligan for K McLaughlin, Barry Mackin for C Martin, Keith McLaughlin for B Mackin, David Dowling for K Murphy, Conor Martin for D Dowling, Alan Watters for P O’Brien.


Categories: Sport

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*